.

Latimer and Cohen Lodge Complaints, Get Rulings

The county Fair Campaign Practices Committee found Latimer had engaged in an unfair campaign practice.

Complaints about campaign practices in the race to succeed Suzi Oppenheimer as senator for the state District 37 have been lodged by both candidates.

Assemblyman George Latimer filed a complaint against Bob Cohen that a paid television advertisement was "blatantly misleading viewers into believing 'regular' people are offended by his opponent."

The Westchester County Fair Campaign Practices Committee issued no finding.

"The implication of a stage reporter hosting a spontaneous interview as a framework could have been misleading to some; however, the commercial was clearly labeled as a political advertisement," the committee said.

The Cohen campaign complained that the Latimer campaign had told the Journal News on Sept. 28 that it had filed a complaint with the committee regarding alleged unfair campaign practices.

The committee said that it was indeed an unfair campaign practice.

"Mr. (Victor) Mallison (Latimer's campaign manager) admitted that a representative of the Democratic Senate Campaign Committee had contacted the Journal News about the complaint filed with the committee. FCPC rules state that 'News releases concerning the filing of a complaint may come only from the committee. If notice of the filing of a complaint is made public by any other source, the committee will consider the action an unfair campaign practice," the committee said.

A press release from the committee said it has "no power to compel anyone to stop doing what it has found to be unfair.

The 37th Senate District is comprised of parts of New Rochelle and White Plains, Bedford-Katonah, Harrison, Rye, Port Chester, Larchmont-Mamaroneck and Bronxville-Eastchester.

Billy October 05, 2012 at 06:21 PM
1 for Bob, 0 for George But really why doesn't George ever work with Gov. Cuomo? I see a real discourse here and wonder why anyone would support Latimer, especially when you take a look at his voting record.
Bea Conetta October 05, 2012 at 09:51 PM
George Latimer does work with Gov. Cuomo on issues that are good for the people he represents. He is not primarily a party man. He votes for what he thinks is best. People do know that he is honest and above board. You would be surprised, Billy, at the tremendous number of people who support and believe in him and will be voting for him. Voters are a lot smarter than polititions think they are. They know that money can't buy the experience that Latimer has.
Aidan October 05, 2012 at 10:51 PM
"FCPC rules state that 'News releases concerning the filing of a complaint may come only from the committee. If notice of the filing of a complaint is made public by any other source, the committee will consider the action an unfair campaign practice ..." Looks to me like Latimer side-stepped the rules.
Craig Noor October 06, 2012 at 12:47 PM
Fortunately people are fed up at receiving a mailer from Bob Cohen and the state Republicans every darned day attacking George Latimer - voters understand that you can't buy an election when all you can do is nitpick at your opponent because you have nothing compelling to say about yourself. See for instance the letters in the last couple of weeks' Westmore News - everyone sees through what Mr. Cohen is attempting to do. Voters may not love everything Mr. Latimer does but they don't want an arrogant, negative, inexperienced candidate who is trying to buy the election (don't get me started on all the autodial calls disparaging Mr. Latimer either...)
Billy October 06, 2012 at 01:35 PM
What's wrong with reminding people how George has voted over the years?
Bob Zahm October 06, 2012 at 02:51 PM
The Republican Party SPAM being delivered through your mailbox is good for only two things - helping fill the US Post Office's deficit and lining the bottom of your garbage can. As has been said by many others much smarter than I, repeating the same opinions does not make them true. We can only hope that thoughtful voters (independent of party) recognize that George is not a party liner, but someone who thinks through the issues in terms of what his constituents need and want as opposed to what the party line is saying. If so, George will win.
Peter Pascale October 07, 2012 at 12:15 PM
The slew of negative mailers from the Cohen campaign is offputting and shameful. I've never seen such an attack. All I know is I see Latimer in Port Chester all the time trying to help us out. I've never seen Bob Cohen.
Billy October 09, 2012 at 04:25 PM
Peter maybe you should re-read the article. It says Cohen's ads are "not blatantly misleading" and it was Latimer that got his wrists slapped. Sorry to make you relive George Latimer's voting record, I get sick to my stomach thinking about it too. But hey, Latimer's got the back of the teacher's union so he shouldn't worry, you know how they like to watch out for 1 of their own.
Michael Woyton (Editor) October 09, 2012 at 05:40 PM
The ad referenced in the complaint was one TV commercial.
Stuy Guy October 09, 2012 at 07:30 PM
Bill (O'Reilly) the paid spokesperson for Bob Cohen, masquerading as a regular citizen.
Billy October 09, 2012 at 07:49 PM
Another commenter w/nothing of substance to say. I love the Laitmer shills, they have nothing positivie to say but ramble on & on & on, but please let's stick to Latimer & his voting record that's what we have to work with. Who btw is this Bill O'Reilly you speak so highly of? If its not relevant to the conversaion, then drop it. Is he 1 of those teacher union people? You know the 1s that trying to tell me to vote for George because he's so great?
Aidan October 11, 2012 at 01:35 PM
Where was Latimer? http://www.empirecenter.org/Special-Reports/2010/12/pensionexplosion120710.cfm
Billy October 11, 2012 at 02:32 PM
Aiden, this about sums it up, http://i234.photobucket.com/albums/ee282/matthewfuntime/Latimer.jpg
David Cohen October 18, 2012 at 05:11 PM
Mr. Cohen has certainly seemed to me to be trying to buy the election. I have seen Mr. Latimer on 3 separate occasions in the past few weeks meeting with voters at the train station. No such activity from Mr. Cohen. I guess he thinks that running a smear campaign over the airways is good enough to win over voters. Not this voter. I'lll be supporting George Latimer, in spite of the misrepresentations and outright lies coming from the Cohen camp.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something